NAD Announces New Board Members

The National Association of the Deaf (NAD) today announces that its Board of Directors for 2014-2016 is now fully complete with the appointment of three new members. Joining existing and recently elected Board Members, we are delighted to welcome Sherri Collins as the new Region IV Board Member, and Alicia Lane-Outlaw and Pamela Lloyd-Ogoke as Appointed Board Members.

Sherri Collins, from Goodyear, Arizona, is the executive director of the Arizona Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing. Alicia Lane-Outlaw is one of the owners and is President of AllOut Marketing, a design and marketing research/strategy firm, and resides in St. Paul, Minnesota. With this expertise, Ms. Lane-Outlaw in her role as Appointed Board Member will serve as an advisor on marketing. Pamela Lloyd-Ogoke lives in Garner, North Carolina and is the Chief of Community Integration Services and Supports for the North Carolina Division of Vocational Rehabilitation. Ms. Lloyd-Ogoke, as a member and former President of the National Black Deaf Advocates (NBDA) as well as a current member of the Gallaudet Board of Trustees, will serve as a liaison to affiliate organizations.

More information on these amazing individuals is available on the Board page of the NAD website.

In Atlanta, Georgia, three officers from the 2012-2014 term were re-elected for their second terms in their positions: President Chris Wagner, Vice President Melissa Draganac-Hawk, and Treasurer Philippe Montalette. Joshua Beckman who was previously an Appointed Board Member, was elected as the Secretary for the next two years. In addition, Region II Board Representative Richard McCowin was re-elected to another four year term (2014-2018), and continues his work with (2012-2016) Region II Board Representative Jenny Buechner, who was appointed to take over the remaining term of Michael Berger who passed away in 2013.

The conference delegates also elected two new regional representatives for the next four years (2014-2018): Michelle Cline, elected as the Region I Board Representative, joining 2012-2016 Region I Board Representative Steve Lovi; and Gerald “Jerry” Nelson, elected as the Region III Board Representative, joining 2012-2016 Region III Board Representative Larry Evans. David Reynolds continues as the 2012-2016 Region IV Board Representative and will work with our newly appointed Sherri Collins in the same region.

The NAD expresses a tremendous amount of gratitude to Kirsten Poston (2012-2014 Secretary and 2008-2012 Appointed Board Member), Margie English (2010-2014 Region I Board Representative), Christopher Patterson (2010-2014 Region III Board Representative), and Julie Rems Smario (2010-2014 Region IV Board Representative) for their years of service and appreciates their enormous dedication to the NAD.

“I want to thank Kirsten Poston, Margie English, Chris Patterson, and Julie Rems Smario for many years of selfless dedication to the NAD. While we will miss these committed individuals, I am thrilled to announce a brand new Board.  It is with great pleasure that I extend a warm welcome to new members of the Board of Directors,” said President Chris Wagner. “Our work has already begun and I know we will work vigilantly to achieve the NAD mission, including the five new priorities voted on by our conference delegates. Join us on our journey!”


The NAD is the nation’s premier civil rights organization of, by and for deaf and hard of hearing individuals in the United States of America. The mission of the NAD is to preserve, protect and promote the civil, human, and linguistic rights of deaf and hard of hearing individuals. The advocacy scope of the NAD is broad, covering a lifetime and impacting future generations in the areas of early intervention, education, employment, health care, technology, telecommunications, youth leadership, and more – improving the lives of millions of deaf and hard of hearing Americans. The NAD also carries out its federal advocacy work through coalition efforts with specialized national deaf and hard of hearing organizations, as well as coalitions representing national cross-disability organizations.