Recognition Awards Presented at 50th Biennial NAD Conference in Philadelphia

The NAD Board of Directors wishes to take this opportunity to recognize again the outstanding efforts of individuals and corporate entities who received awards during the 50th Biennial NAD Conference, in recognition of their efforts on behalf of the American deaf and hard of hearing community, listed below. Click here to learn more about each award and view recipient photographs. Hats off to all!

Accessibility Awards

  • Google, Inc.
    Mountain View, California
  • National Football League
    New York City, New York
  • CBS Corporation
    New York, New York

Andrew J. Foster Teaching Excellence Award

  • Robert R. Davila
    New Market, Maryland

Frederick C. Schreiber Distinguished Service Award

  • Howard A. Rosenblum
    Chicago, Illinois

Golden Rose Award

  • Barbara Schmidt
    Coon Rapids, Minnesota

Knights of the Flying Fingers Awards

  • Tawny Holmes
    Laurel, Maryland
  • Alexis A. Kashar
    Scarsdale, New York
  • Melissa Malzkuhn
    Washington, District of Columbia
  • Sheila Conlon Mentkowski
    Sacramento, California
  • Jeffrey T. Rosen
    Rockville, Maryland
  • Louis J. Schwarz
    The Villages, Florida

Media Advocacy Award

  • Marlee Matlin
    Los Angeles, California

Randall McClelland Memorial Award

  • Jamie Berke
    Springfield, Virginia

Robert M. Greenmum Memorial Award

  • Cynthia Weitzel
    Red Wing, Minnesota

Senior Citizens Awards

  • Ronald M. Hirano
    San Francisco, California
  • Virginia A. Luke
    Frederick, Maryland

Spirit of the NAD Award

  • Benjamin J. Soukup
    Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Youth Service Awards

  • James “Jimmy” Wilson IV
    Tucson, Arizona
  • Leah Katz-Hernandez
    Montgomery Village, Maryland

And also…

President’s Award

  • Nancy J. Bloch
    Baltimore, Maryland

Chief Executive Officer’s Award

  • CSDVRS (The Z)
    Clearwater, Florida

NAD-RID Outstanding Service to Interpreting Award

  • Nancy J. Bloch
    Baltimore, Maryland